May 30, 2012

KURV Election Day Coverage and Analysis

The May 29th Texas Primary election had some exciting races and curious trends. I participated in 710 KURV Talk Radio's election day coverage. Joining hosts, Sergio Sanchez, Davis Rankin, Roy Martinez, and Tim Sullivan was special guest Steve Taylor with the Rio Grande Guardian.

The election saw several incumbents and key committee leaders go down to defeat. The Tea Party movement also asserted itself to move the 83rd legislative session in a more conservative direction.

Locally, divisions within the Hidalgo County Republican Party became more evident in the current chair, Javier Villalobos, squeaking out a victory over Tom Huey.

Republican Miriam Martinez also went on to win the Republican primary against Rev. Armando Vera. In Congressional District 15, Incumbent Ruben Hinojosa went on to easily win the Democratic primary. On the Republican side, Eddie Zamora will enter a runoff against Dale Brueggemann, of Seguin.

In Congressional District 34, front runner Filemon Vela, Jr. will enter into a runoff with Denise Saenz Blanchard for the Democratic nomination. On the Republican side, a runoff will be necessary to decide between Jessica Puente Bradshaw and Adela Garza.

The biggest statewide race has a runoff on the Republican side between Lt. Governor David Dewhurst and Ted Cruz for the U.S. Senator position. This should be a lively race that should highlight the internal struggle within the Republican Party between establishment conservatives and Tea Party conservatives.

Keep watching. I will update you as things move along.

No comments: